RSS Feed

Kale and Blueberry Salad

Posted on

I found this recipe on Southern Living’s website. I ran it through the WW calculator and found the original to be a little much in points for my tastes. I changed the sour cream to light sour cream and adjusted the servings from 6 to 8.

  • 6 Tbsp apple cider vinegar   
  •   1/4 small uncooked onion(s), grated   
  • 1/4 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce   
  • 1/8 Tbsp hot sauce   
  • 1 clove(s) (medium) garlic clove(s), minced   
  •   1/2 medium Granny Smith apple, grated   
  • 1 cup(s) low-fat buttermilk   
  • 6 Tbsp mayonnaise   
  • 6 Tbsp reduced-fat sour cream   
  • 3 Tbsp fresh tarragon, chopped   
  • 1 tsp kosher salt   
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper   
  • 1/2 tsp sugar   
  •   3/4 cup(s) (sliced) fresh radish(es), thinly sliced   
  •   4 medium uncooked carrot(s), cut into strips   
  •   3 cup(s) uncooked kale, thinly sliced   
  •   1 head(s) (large) uncooked red cabbage, shredded   
  •   1 cup(s) fresh blueberries   
  •   1 cup(s) raspberries   

Stir together first 6 ingredients in a jar with a tight-fitting lid; let stand 5 minutes. Add buttermilk and next 3 ingredients. Cover jar with lid; shake vigorously until blended and smooth. Add salt, pepper, and sugar to taste. Toss together radishes, next 5 ingredients, and 1/2 cup dressing in a large bowl; let stand 30 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Serve with remaining dressing.

Serves 8. 5 WW PP

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

Leave a Reply

