RSS Feed

April 2, 2015

Posted on

I weighed in the other day. I did well. So far I have lost 22.4 lbs. I’m using Weight Watchers but I am also watching how things add up easily. It is easy to gain weight! Too bad it isn’t as easy to lose. But that is what is pushing me to move forward and keep going. I don’t want to have to go through this again. It’s like going through detox for rehab. Except it is an extended time period. Yes, you get used to eating healthier and it does get easier, but it will probably always be an issue.

I have figured out that I like carbs too much. When I am sad, I want carbs. When I am happy, I want carbs. When I am depressed, I want carbs. They taste good. I’m not going to lie. And they give me a quick boost to my serotonin levels and I instantly feel better. Don’t believe me? Check WebMD and let them explain it.

But I am learning to make better choices. Today at 2:30 when I was suddenly hungry again, I didn’t go get the candy bar I thought about in passing. Instead I went upstairs at work and saw there were leftovers of a beautiful mixed green salad. I got some of that with a bit of Asian dressing and I was good to go. I ate a whopping salad, my mood lifted and so did my confidence. I made a good choice. I was going to eat no matter what. My choice was a good one, though. Yay, me!

I counted up my points so far for the day and I am not even going to feel guilty when I have dinner out tonight. It’s within my points range. I did, however, find out how I ended up in this mess. Many things were not in my points range and I ate them and ate some more, too! But tonight is a guilt-free night.

If you are struggling, don’t beat yourself up if there is a failure. When you’re hungry again, make a good choice. Is it easy? No. In fact, it can be confusing. But if you start slowly and really simplify, it will get easier. One day at a time…

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

Leave a Reply

