RSS Feed

Discrimination Against Overweight People

Posted on

The other day I saw this post on Facebook:

obesity

I responded that sometimes the cost of healthy food is too expensive for people to eat properly. It was amazing the responses that came from that simple statement. I always knew that people discriminated against people who are overweight, but it was amazing how people posted such negative things. People replied that my response wasn’t true. I was speaking from my living situation and how I struggle financially to buy fresh produce. I was told that I could eat beans and rice. Yes, I do that. But I do like variety. I don’t want to eat just beans and rice for every meal. I miss strawberries, blueberries, bell peppers, a variety of lettuces and such. I can’t always afford them.

Some people were thoughtful and seemed to be trying to be helpful. I was told I should grow my own fruits and vegetables. Not everyone can do that. I live in an apartment. We aren’t allowed to just plant things willy nilly. I have done a little container gardening, but honestly that doesn’t provide enough food for an individual for frequent meals. It sure wouldn’t give enough for a family if they lived in my community.

It irritated me, though, that people assume that people don’t eat healthy because they’re just lazy. I wish others would consider that some people are busy working in jobs that don’t always pay a lot and have to do the best they can to survive. After a long, hard day, they’re tired and need food choices that taste good and are good for them. When you have limited finances, you have limited options. It’s not always a matter of being lazy. Sometimes it’s a matter of economics.

That’s actually one of the purposes of this blog. I want to help myself and others find good foods that are affordable and tasty. I’m not lazy; I’m busy. I like beans. I like rice. I don’t like them constantly. I’m sure that others don’t either.

What gets me, though, is the fact that people feel that it is ok to discriminate against overweight people. It’s now acceptable. I wonder if they would feel it was ok to speak negatively to or about someone with mental retardation or of a different race? I don’t think it is ok to make assumptions about others in general. In my opinion it’s not alright to judge others or act condescending to others.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. You’re right. People who would never leave nasty comments about someone who is a different race or religion have no issues with “fat shaming”. Poverty is another condition that a lot of people are okay with blaming the victim. I’m not sure why or what the answer is…

    Reply
    • that was my whole point. people cannot always afford to eat as healthy as they would like to. they have to consider economics. and i know i have made some bad choices, but some things were also out of my control. i am not sure what the answer is either but shaming people who are already struggling is wrong.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

