RSS Feed

Easy Crockpot Veggie Beef Soup

Posted on

32 ounces beef broth
24 Ounces crushed tomatoes
5 each new potato, peeled and cut into pieces
1 1/2 cups baby carrots
1 1/2 cups pearl onions
1 cup okra, frozen, chopped
3/4 pound beef sirloin steak, cut into bite-sized pieces
1 tablespoon Italian Seasoning
salt and pepper, to taste
2 each bay leaves, whole

Place veggies in crockpot. Add pieces of steak. Pour in beef broth and crushed tomatoes. Add in 6 ounces of water. Add seasonings and bay leaves. Cook on high for 5 hours.

Note: You can always add more veggies…it only ups the calories minimally and you get lots of benefits. I would stay away from starchy veggies, though, such as corn. Starches turn into sugar when they hit your body.

Serves 8.

Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 241 Calories; 7g Fat (24.0% calories from fat); 18g Protein; 28g Carbohydrate; 5g Dietary Fiber; 31mg Cholesterol; 822mg Sodium.

Exchanges: 1 Grain(Starch); 2 Lean Meat; 2 1/2 Vegetable; 1/2 Fat.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

Leave a Reply

