RSS Feed

Crockpot Grits

Posted on

Being Southern, I love grits! There are lots of ways to do them, but here is an easy way to get that tasty, creamy goodness.

6 cups water
2 cups grits
3 tablespoons butter
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon pepper

1. Stir together grits and 6 cups water in a 5 or 6-qt. slow cooker. Let stand 1 to 2 minutes, allowing grits to settle to bottom. Tilt slow cooker slightly, and skim off solids using a fine wire-mesh strainer. Cover and soak 8 hours or overnight.

2. Cover and cook grits on HIGH 2 hours to 2 hours and 30 minutes, stirring halfway through. Stir in cream and remaining ingredients. Serve with desired toppings. (Don’t forget toppings are more calories!)

Serves 8.

Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 209 Calories; 8g Fat (32.6% calories from fat); 4g Protein; 31g Carbohydrate; trace Dietary Fiber; 22mg Cholesterol; 452mg Sodium.

Exchanges: 2 Grain(Starch); 0 Non-Fat Milk; 1 1/2 Fat.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

Leave a Reply

