RSS Feed

July 18, 2014

Posted on

Time can slip away so easily. I would say, “Time flies when you’re having fun!” The thing is I haven’t been having fun. I think I let life get the best of me and then I sink into the mire of depression. It’s like quick sand. You get stuck. I have been stuck for so long that I wondered if there was a way out. There is and I know it.

Recently a family member died and it really hit home. I have allowed the shackles of depression and obesity hold me back. I know what is bothering me. I haven’t done anything about it. If I want to move forward and find some peace and happiness in life, I have to work to overcome this! Life is too damned hard as it is to add to my own sorrow.

The loss of my family member was hard because this person lived a life of joy. I want that kind of joy. I want to smile about something daily. I haven’t in a long time. When something is robbing you of joy, it’s time to do something! If it is a person, kick them out of your life. If it is an addiction, kick the addiction! What if it is yourself? Kick your own ass for doing that to yourself! You deserve better. I deserve better.

So here is where I need some help…I want to walk more and need some music to inspire me. Any suggestions? I need something to get me through the huffing and puffing I will be doing and will keep me focused on moving.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. Your post resonates with me today. I too want to live a life of joy, but find myself sliding into that pit of depression. For me, physical pain and unhappiness with my job are pushing me down. Since quitting work isn’t feasible, I need to find some way to introduce that joy to my life in my off time…good luck to you as you search for your own personal joy.

    Reply
    • I know what you mean. It feels like an endless loop, doesn’t it? I am working hard to change aspects of myself and my situation. I know those lead me down toward negativity. Weight loss won’t make me completely happy on its own, but it will allow me to do the things that will make me happier. Thanks for caring! I am wishing you joy, too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

