RSS Feed

Pineapple Chicken Stir Fry

Posted on

I saw this on Diabetic Living Online and the recipe looked great. The only problem was they didn’t tell how much the calories were including the rice. I calculated it with the rice. Still a good calorie count with rice.

4 teaspoons vegetable oil
1 medium red onion, cut into strips
1/4 medium pineapple, peeled and cored, and chopped
3/4 cup zucchini, cut into strips
3/4 cup peas, sugar snap
12 ounces chicken breast half without skin, cut into bite-sized pieces
3 tablespoons stir-fry sauce
2 cups cooked rice

1. In a wok or large skillet, heat 2 teaspoons of the oil over medium-high heat. Stir-fry red onion in hot oil for 2 minutes. Add pineapple pieces, zucchini, and pea pods. Stir-fry for 2 minutes more. Remove mixture from wok.

2. Add the remaining 2 teaspoons oil to hot wok. Add chicken. Stir-fry for 2 to 3 minutes or until chicken is tender and no longer pink. Return onion mixture to wok. Add stir-fry sauce. Cook and stir about 1 minute or until heated through. If desired, serve with fresh pineapple wedges.

Serves 4.

Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 301 Calories; 6g Fat (18.0% calories from fat); 21g Protein; 40g Carbohydrate; 3g Dietary Fiber; 39mg Cholesterol; 447mg Sodium.

Exchanges: 2 Grain(Starch); 2 Lean Meat; 1/2 Vegetable; 0 Fruit; 1 Fat.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Chicken Breasts in a Cream Sauce Recipe | Nosh My way

Leave a Reply

