RSS Feed

Southwestern Pinto Bean Soup

Posted on

Being a Southerner, I love pinto beans. I grew up eating pinto beans and cornbread. This sounded pretty tasty and a new spin on a favorite. I found it at Diabetic Living.

  • 2 cups dry pinto beans
  • 5 cups cold water
  • 2 14 – ounce can reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 14 1/2 – ounce can fire-roasted diced tomatoes, undrained
  • Shredded reduced-fat Monterey Jack cheese (optional)
  • Snipped fresh cilantro and/or sliced green onions (optional)
  • Desired crackers (optional)
  1. Rinse dry beans. In a Dutch oven combine rinsed beans and the 5 cups cold water. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, uncovered, for 10 minutes. Remove from heat. Cover and let stand for 1 hour. Drain and rinse beans.
  2. In a 3-1/2- or 4-quart slow cooker combine beans, broth, the 1/2 cup water, the onion, garlic, cumin, and cayenne pepper.
  3. Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 8 to 10 hours or on high-heat setting for 4 to 5 hours.
  4. Stir in undrained tomatoes; cover and cook for 30 minutes more. If desired, partially mash mixture with a potato masher, leaving soup chunky. If desired, top individual servings with cheese and cilantro and serve with crackers.

Serves 6.

PER SERVING: 254 cal., 1 g total fat 477 mg sodium, 46 g carb. (10 g fiber, 3 g sugars), 16 g pro.

Diabetic Exchanges

Lean Meat (d.e): 1; Vegetables (d.e): 0.5; Starch (d.e): 2.5

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. Growing up poor in southern Indiana, we also ate a lot of pinto beans (or navy beans) and cornbread…still love both. This does sound good…minus the tomatoes…I really don’t like cooked tomatoes, but I do enjoy spicy dishes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

