RSS Feed

Weight Loss Controversy

Posted on

I like the inspiration of The Biggest Loser, but sometimes I have been very concerned about what they’re pushing severely obese people to do. People discusses the controversy. I think that a morbidly obese person can lose more than 2 lbs. a week but I do believe some of the things they are asking the people to do is over the top and unhealthy. What do you think?

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. As a man that has lost over 200 pounds and kept it off, it is damaging in the long run both physically and emotionally to lose weight so quickly. The average person can’t copy that method and expect to keep the weight off and they don’t. Its unrealistic and sensationalized to make money. . I am also a nutritionist and help people lose weight the right way.

    Reply
    • I think you’re right. I think we want to lose weight so much that some of us feel this is acceptable. I think promoting healthy weight loss is important. Many people do need that inspiration on television because they don’t have supporters in their own lives. And some people can and will do what those people have done. But at what cost? I’m too heavy to exercise like those people do. I’m not going to risk injury to do that. I need to look for positive and beneficial ways to move. And food…we need a set amount of calories in order to sustain life and have energy. They need to remember that a calorie is a unit of energy and isn’t necessarily this evil thing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

