RSS Feed

Sacrifice Is Necessary

Posted on

Greek Café Frappé prepared with soy milk and t...

 

It amazes me that people say they want to lose weight and refuse to do anything to make it happen. It is like saying the words are enough. If that was true, everyone would be skinny. Who doesn’t want to be a healthy weight?

What makes me ask this? A woman at work told me she was interested in the shakes I do and asked how to make them. I explained that I mix the powder with soy milk and then blend with frozen strawberries and Truvia. Her first response was “Ewww! Soy milk! I can’t do that.” I asked her if she had ever tried it and her answer was no. So  I then asked how she could say she didn’t like it if she’d never had it. That didn’t make sense to me.

Here’s the deal, people, if you want to lose weight, you are going to have to make changes. You gained weight because of how you are currently eating. You cannot expect to lose weight eating the same way. It’s not logical. I’m sorry if that offends you. Sacrifice is necessary. You cannot eat biscuits and burgers and expect to lose weight. It is not going to happen. If you have one now and then, that is a different story. But daily? Give me a break. And also quit trying to lie to yourself and say it is possible. It’s not. Most of us are intelligent enough to know this so why people act so shocked by this news astounds me.

Sacrifice is necessary! It is that simple. Start giving up something every day if you have to do it that way. Start adding in something positive. Add more veggies and take out fatty foods. Quit saying you can’t do something if you have never tried it. Quit saying EEWWWW when you have no clue about what something tastes like. For the record, that is something that drives me nuts, especially in adults. Don’t act like you will die if you taste something. You know that the flavor will not kill you. Suck it up, buttercup! Taste it and then make a decision. Quit acting like a baby!

If you want something bad enough, you’ll try for it.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

4 responses »

  1. Awesome post! I hear this all the time from clients. I love your straight on tell it like it is approach.

    Keep up the good work

    Wally

    Reply
    • Thank you, Wally! I have lost 20 lbs in the last month. I didn’t eat burgers daily. I sacrificed foods I love. I was scared of soy milk, too. I tried it and it was ok. It is especially good blended. And it tastes JUST LIKE a milk shake with my recipe. I am going to be selling the stuff soon and will be posting about that later. It’s awesome and if I can do that, then it has to be pretty good. It just frustrates me that adults have this mentality. This is why we have an obesity epidemic. We have adults who say this and because of that, their kids say and do the same thing and eat the same way. I am obese and am working to fix mine. If she wants help, she has it. Otherwise, she doesn’t need to ask me anything about it.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: How I Have Lost Weight Recently | Living Too Large

  3. Pingback: Juice Plus Mocha Frappuccino | Living Too Large

Leave a Reply

