RSS Feed

Daily Archives: July 8, 2013

Sacrifice Is Necessary

Posted on

Greek Café Frappé prepared with soy milk and t...

 

It amazes me that people say they want to lose weight and refuse to do anything to make it happen. It is like saying the words are enough. If that was true, everyone would be skinny. Who doesn’t want to be a healthy weight?

What makes me ask this? A woman at work told me she was interested in the shakes I do and asked how to make them. I explained that I mix the powder with soy milk and then blend with frozen strawberries and Truvia. Her first response was “Ewww! Soy milk! I can’t do that.” I asked her if she had ever tried it and her answer was no. So  I then asked how she could say she didn’t like it if she’d never had it. That didn’t make sense to me.

Here’s the deal, people, if you want to lose weight, you are going to have to make changes. You gained weight because of how you are currently eating. You cannot expect to lose weight eating the same way. It’s not logical. I’m sorry if that offends you. Sacrifice is necessary. You cannot eat biscuits and burgers and expect to lose weight. It is not going to happen. If you have one now and then, that is a different story. But daily? Give me a break. And also quit trying to lie to yourself and say it is possible. It’s not. Most of us are intelligent enough to know this so why people act so shocked by this news astounds me.

Sacrifice is necessary! It is that simple. Start giving up something every day if you have to do it that way. Start adding in something positive. Add more veggies and take out fatty foods. Quit saying you can’t do something if you have never tried it. Quit saying EEWWWW when you have no clue about what something tastes like. For the record, that is something that drives me nuts, especially in adults. Don’t act like you will die if you taste something. You know that the flavor will not kill you. Suck it up, buttercup! Taste it and then make a decision. Quit acting like a baby!

If you want something bad enough, you’ll try for it.

