RSS Feed

Zucchini and Potato Frittata

Posted on

I was looking at various recipes and they didn’t look right. So here is my version.

1 large red potato, peeled and cut into small cubes
2 teaspoons kosher salt
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 small red onions, thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 large zucchini, shredded
2 tablespoons fresh rosemary, chopped
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
4 large eggs
4 large egg whites
2 teaspoons parmesan cheese, grated

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. In a medium saucepan, combine potatoes, 1 tsp. salt and cold water to cover. Bring to a boil and cook until potatoes are tender when pierced with a fork, about 10 minutes. Drain potatoes well in a colander.

2. In a 10-inch, ovenproof, nonstick skillet, melt butter over medium heat. Add red onions and cook until soft, about 8 minutes. Add garlic and cook for 2 minutes longer. Add potato, zucchini, rosemary and remaining 1 tsp. salt and pepper.

3. In a medium bowl, beat eggs and egg whites with a fork. Pour egg mixture over vegetables in skillet and stir to blend. Cook undisturbed over medium heat until side begins to set but center is still wet and bubbling, about 3 minutes. Sprinkle parmesan on top.

4. Place skillet in oven and cook until eggs are set, rotating pan once for even cooking, about 10 minutes. To serve, loosen frittata from skillet and cut into wedges from pan. Serve warm or at room temperature.

8 servings.

Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 101 Calories; 6g Fat (49.8% calories from fat); 6g Protein; 7g Carbohydrate; 1g Dietary Fiber; 114mg Cholesterol; 543mg Sodium.

Exchanges: 0 Grain(Starch); 1/2 Lean Meat; 1 Vegetable; 1 Fat.

 

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

4 responses »

  1. Thank you for the link to my blog. Like your healthy point of view.

    Reply
  2. This sounds good…what did you do with 8 servings tho? LOL Congrats on the weight loss…I’ve lost about the same amount in the past couple of months. However, I think mine has more to do with meds affecting my appetite rather than any real effort on my part!

    Reply
    • 8 servings…i am thinking would be good to take to work but right now i wouldn’t (kinda mad). I bet this also freezes so freeze servings. Or just eat on it for a few days for different meals. I could easily see this as a breakfast today and lunch tomorrow w salad.

      Awesome on the weight loss! (If you need it) I NEED it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

