RSS Feed

June 24, 2013

Posted on

I went to the doctor today. I almost didn’t make it. They had their walk-in clinic until 7:30. I didn’t leave my workplace until 7:15. It would usually take me about 15 minutes to get there if I was driving according to the laws of the city. I was in pain and did not abide by the laws. I made it in 8 minutes. They told me if I got there before 7:30 that I would still be seen. You think I was missing the 7:30 mark? Hell no! My ear was hurting and leaking. I am starting my on call in a few days. If you are a regular reader, you know how much I despise being on call. It makes me drop words that begin with letters such as F. Not great. So yeah, I hauled ass. Speed limit? Ha! No, I don’t think so. I believe it is more of a suggestion. A car was going to turn. Was I going to stop? No. I ran right around his butt into a parking lot. I ain’t stopping! I gotta go!

So before the doctor sees me, we get my temp. I usually have a low temp. 97 is norm. I was right at 100. Weight? Ummmm….well you’re not getting the actual number, but lemme tell you, I have lost 20 lbs in one freaking month. (Are you jumping up and down for me? If not, put the laptop down and do it NOW!) My bp is even down! Even though I just broke every law in the world. I did it and kept the bp low. Like a champ, baby! Then the doctor looked and my ear is not good. Not at all. Hurts like hell. So shot in ass and ear drops for me! Hopefully some sleep soon.

But the point is I LOST WEIGHT! I cried when they told me. It was truly emotional. I don’t have scales at home. I would obsess over them. I go by how my clothes fit. So this was just amazing to me.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. Amy congratulations on the weight loss and really glad you didn’t have a wreck and need the doctor for other things.

    Reply
    • Thank you! It was hard but so worth it! I appreciate all of y’all supporting me. It helps on those days when I don’t want to do it. Thank you again so much!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

