RSS Feed

Butternut Squash Summer Salad

Posted on

Another recipe received from this new site. I have added some substitution ideas.

 

16 ounces mixed greens
1 medium butternut squash, peeled and diced
1/3 cup goat cheese
1/3 cup walnuts, chopped
1/4 cup dried cranberries
olive oil spray
1/2 tablespoon herbs, Italian
1/4 cup Vinaigrette, balsamic

 

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and spray metal baking sheet with the oil spray. Spread out squash into a single layer on baking sheet and spray squash with olive oil then sprinkle with [sea] salt, pepper, and Italian herbs. (You can add fresh herbs if you have any on hand. I added fresh basil and parsley in combination with the dried spices).

2. Bake squash for 30 mins turning over halfway through. Squash will be done when they’re tender with a little crisp, and a melt in-your-mouth bite.

3. Place baby greens in large bowl and add squash, goat cheese, walnuts and dried cranberries.

4. Drizzle each serving with a desired amount of dressing.

Servings: 8.

Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 199 Calories; 9g Fat (36.3% calories from fat); 6g Protein; 29g Carbohydrate; 6g Dietary Fiber; 5mg Cholesterol; 39mg Sodium.

Exchanges: 1 1/2 Grain(Starch); 1/2 Lean Meat; 1/2 Vegetable; 0 Fruit; 1 1/2 Fat.

Notes:  You can substitute pecans for the walnuts and yellow raisins for cranberries.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Amy – you are doing some amazing things on here! Thank you so much for tagging my #vegan Mango and Butternut Squash Soup Recipe at http://wp.me/p3CBpD-2 – I wondered whether you had a twitter account we could connect on? @ethivegan –

    Reply
    • I don’t have a twitter account but am thinking of doing it. Do you think it is worth it? I have so much going on that I wondered if it would help. I do want more followers because honestly I feel there are people struggling with the same things I am. Thank you so much for the suggestion. I hope you will continue reading. I really liked your recipe. BTW, just typing this, you talked me into twitter! lol See ya there!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

