RSS Feed

May 29, 2013

Posted on

It is amazing how emotions affect weight. When I am anxious, I can’t eat. I usually can’t sleep either. Then again, when can I sleep? When I am depressed, all I want to do is eat.

Recently I have been anxious. I have felt a lot of frustration and not known what to do about some situations. It was literally tying my body into knots. I felt tense, anxious, nervous, overwhelmed. I even had a day the other day where I was just so stressed that as soon as I was safely away from the stress and could have a moment to myself, I just cried my heart out. I sobbed actually. I drove home with hot tears coursing down my cheeks, talking to myself. I was going over the situation all over again and was so angry and hurt. I went home and curled up and just cried until I couldn’t move. I was out of strength.

I didn’t feel like eating after all of that drama. I had to find something, though. My head was pounding. It was splitting. I had to have something. I didn’t eat as well as I should have, but it could have been a lot worse.

But all of that really made me look at how emotions make us eat. Some people eat when they feel the way I did. I just shut down. A lot of it is that I feel nausea and just the thought of food is not pleasant. Anxiety is great for my weight loss, but it is hell on my emotions.

The good news to all of this is I feel better and stronger today. My stress isn’t gone, but I am looking at alternatives when dealing with it. When I begin to think about it, I try to make my head just stop. I try to get off that loop. I have to admit that isn’t easy. Instead, I focus on this video a friend showed me on YouTube. I laugh like crazy when I see it.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

Leave a Reply

