RSS Feed

April 8, 2013

Posted on

I should be asleep. I would be asleep but my tummy doesn’t feel good. I know what you’re thinking. “She ate everything again.” WRONG! I did not! I only ate 2/3 of everything. So that is something positive. I didn’t eat it all. I am trying to tell myself it is positive anyway. I did eat at a bad time but I didn’t mean to. I have had my schedule all off balance this week due to migraines and being on-call at work. Yesterday I ended up working 13 1/2 hours with the stupid migraine and then couldn’t sleep. Finally I got home and rested a little but still couldn’t sleep well. So finally I was starving and got some food when I picked up meds for said migraine and the phone rang. You dread the phone ringing when you are on-call, by the way. So it was work saying I have to be there first thing this morning. I ate and went to bed. Now my tummy hurts. I should be asleep. I am exhausted. And I don’t want to work on my only day off. And I am bitchy as hell. It’s gonna be a fun Monday. Can’t ya tell?!

On the positive side, I ate enough to shut the stomach rumbles up but it still gave me a tummy ache. I wish I had just run into the grocery store and picked up fruit. I have been craving fruit like crazy lately. Maybe my body is telling me something? Maybe the weather is causing these cravings? I dunno.

I’m gonna try to sleep for 2 more hours before going into work and being mean as hell. Actually, I will have to turn on my syrup voice and it will probably turn my mood around eventually. It usually does. I’m gonna let PBS and the War of 1812 lull me to sleep now for a bit.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

3 responses »

  1. Hi, thanks for posting a link to my article. BTW, you many already know this, but the food cravings MIGHT be a prodromal symptom of your migraine, i.e. a symptom that indicates the onset of your migraine. If you weren’t aware, talk to your doctor about it. Also, webmd and the Mayo Clinic and other sites like that should have a list and explanation of prodromes. I plan to right a blog about mine in the near future.

    I hope you feel better, and I hope you get some rest soon.

    Reply
    • Hey there! Good insight on the food cravings. I know the weather affects me with migraines. In the spring and fall I typically get them. I usually get a bad one for days. This is day 8. I thought it would die out, but it didn’t. I do take Topamax, which is a preventative med for them, but when the weather changes so much it isn’t strong enough for these. I only worked 11 1/2 hours today and was able to reach my pharmacist and check on any meds in my file for this. She found an expired one and was able to give me an ER dose. I was soooooo happy! I took 2 pills and guess what! Head is not hurting!!!! Yay!!!!! I am severely drowsy now. I just ate and feel soooo tired. I think I am going to bed. It’s 8pm and have to be up at 5:45 am. That should be enough sleep. Let’s hope work LEAVES ME ALONE!

      Thanks for the kind words and the helpful information. 🙂

      Reply
      • No problem. I’m happy you’re better. Migraine’s are so debilitating. It hurt me knowing you had to work through it. No one can understand that pain unless they are a migraineur.

        Take care.

        Skylar

Leave a Reply

