RSS Feed

The Ruby Burger

Posted on

OK…This is my FAVORITE burger E-V-E-R! It is the burger I grew up eating. My grandmother, Ruby, made it for me from the time I could eat real food. I will choose this over filet mignon any day of the week! I could eat it each and every day and never tire of it. The thing is the calories. I have tried to get them down and no matter what, they’re still high. So here is the burger recipe with lean ground beef and it still comes in at 600+ calories. I could use less meat and I am ok with that. I just need the essence of the meat. The star of the show is the kraut, cheese and sauce blend. The meat “flavors” believe it or not.  So extra kraut, which is not that high in calories, the same cheese and sauce and a little meat maybe? Or I am thinking of trying Quorn burger patties and seeing how that works. I love their products so that might be a really good idea. Their “chicken” patties taste absolutely like chicken. So maybe their burgers will be good?

kraut burger

1 pound ground beef, extra lean
1 tablespoon olive oil
salt and pepper, to taste
1/2 cup ketchup
1/2 cup yellow mustard
14 ounces sauerkraut
4 ounces sharp cheddar cheese
1 large onion, sliced
4 each hamburger bun

1. Divide meat into 4 patties. Place in non-stick skillet with olive oil. Salt and pepper to taste. Cook meat until desired doneness.

2. While the meat is cooking, mix ketchup and mustard until well blended.

3. Place sauerkraut in pot and heat thoroughly until most liquid is gone.

4. If you’d like the hamburger buns toasted, you can do so. Begin assembly of burgers by putting sauce mixture on inside of bun on both sides. Place burger down, sauerkraut, cheese, and onion.

4 servings

Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 669 Calories; 36g Fat (48.2% calories from fat); 37g Protein; 51g Carbohydrate; 8g Dietary Fiber; 108mg Cholesterol; 1884mg Sodium.

Exchanges: 1 1/2 Grain(Starch); 4 Lean Meat; 3 1/2 Vegetable; 4 1/2 Fat; 1/2 Other Carbohydrates.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

Leave a Reply

