RSS Feed

What Makes Food Super?

Posted on

Castroville's nickname celebrates its status a...

 

Have you ever wondered what makes a super food super? I have. I mean, most of them taste great, but what makes them super? I decided to find out. The following things determine if a food is super. I’m going to keep looking into this matter and see what else I can find. For now, this is what I have.

  • Nutrient Density – Basically the number of nutrients in ratio to calories. A fresh super food packed with nutrients is nutrient dense.
  • Aggregate Nutrient Density Index system (ANDI) – This is just a rating scale of the nutrient density of foods of most to least.
  • pH Balance – The acidity of our body keeps us going or not. The more acidic we are, the more we feel bad. We need a balance. Eating a more alkaline diet brings balance to us. BTW, refined foods and animal products are more acidic. If you want to learn how to check your own pH, you can learn how here.
  • ORAC (Oxygen Radical Absorbance Capacity) Value – This is a measure of subduing free radicals in a test tube. Free radicals are bad and lead to aging and disease; you want those things STOPPED! The higher the ORAC number, the more antioxidants the food has, which leads to being a super food.

Examples of Super Foods (there are many more):

Apples
Apricots
Artichokes
Asparagus
Avocados
Bananas
Beans/Lentils
Beets
Bell Peppers
Berries
Broccoli
Brussel Sprouts
Cabbage
Cantaloupe
Carrots
Cauliflower
Cherries
Chia Seeds
Dark Chocolate
Eggs
Fish
Flax
Garlic
Grapes
Green Tea
Hot Peppers
Kale
Kiwi
Lemon/Lime
Low-fat Yogurt
Mangoes
Mushrooms
Nuts
Oats
Olive Oil
Oranges
Papaya
Peaches
Pineapple
Potatoes
Pumpkin
Pomegranates
Quinoa
Rice (Brown)
Spinach
Sprouts
Sweet Potatoes
Swiss Chard 
Tomatoes
Wheat Germ 
Winter Squash
About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for using my post as a related article to your post.

    Very good information you have here. I take a liquid concentrate of Tart Cherry for pH balance and also drink a tea at times Dandelion root for getting excess acid out of my body and helping with pH. I also mix with juice or water Trace minerals right out of the Great Salt lakes of Utah. Trace minerals also help with pH.

    I will be following your blog. I hope this can be some support to your search to be healthy.

    You have the begging’s of a great blog. Sometimes you will feel like stopping. Don’t, you have and will have great things to post about.

    When you share your experiences and failures..others will respond with comments about and their comment could be an answer to what you are looking for. Don’t give up. Keep blogging.

    Thanks for sharing your blog with Us!! 🙂

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • Thanks! And thanks for great info. I was wondering about making body less acidic. I had read a little about that in Eat Right For Your Type by Dr. Peter D’Adamo but hadn’t done much research. Great info! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

