RSS Feed

February 13, 2013

Posted on

I keep posting the same thing over and over about being sick. I have been fighting illness for most of this new year. This has been a rough year on me! I’m sorry to keep saying the same thing. I have had a sinus infection that has been dragging me down and just won’t go away. It seems to and then is immediately back. Last week was really bad because I was on call and couldn’t take all my meds that help me really sleep. I was running a fever all week and just felt horrible. I finally got off call this morning and went to the store this morning and bought what seemed like a cart full (or if you are a Southerner, a buggy full) of meds! I got this crazy nose spray that nearly knocked me on my ass! It was amazing stuff, though. It had menthol and eucalyptus in it and hit my sinuses like you wouldn’t believe. It was Rexall nose spray and it was amazing. You can only use two doses daily. After one dose I was feeling a lot better. I still have a lot of pressure and a headache. I took the night off to rest. I need more sleep than I have been getting.

One positive. I got some new walking shoes ordered. If you know/remember, I had said my others hurt my feet. They pinch my toes. So I wanted some new ones and have been trying to order some. You’d think I was asking for diamond encrusted custom shoes or something. I don’t wear that weird of a size of shoes or anything but every place I have tried to order from in the style of shoes has been out of stock. I finally found a place with a pair that was reasonable and in stock and so they will be here in a day or two. I know you might be wondering why I don’t go to the store. It is hard to find time. I work crazy hours and it is hard to do anything so I usually shop online. I just don’t have time for shopping. Plus I use a place called MyPoints and I earn points for purchases and then I can cash in points for gift certificates for places that I love. I’ve been using this place for 12 years and love it and love getting free stuff. So my shoes should be here soon! 🙂

I hope everyone is doing well. I am on the mend! The new meds are working and I am going to get well or die trying!

 

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

4 responses »

  1. Wow…sounds like we’re coming from the same place…what with being sick all of this year and, yes, even the shoe thing!! And, of course, the working weird hours…sure hope you start feeling better soon. One of my friends suggested I try eucalyptus oil in a candle warmer…she said she puts a few drops in water that then is heated by the candle warmer. I’m definitely going to try this…got to do something to make it easier for me to breathe.

    Reply
    • I hope you feel better, too! I tell ya, that shot of nose spray was like DAMNATION! But it did help a lot. It’s not for the faint-hearted, though. 🙂 I was stunned and finally able to breathe when laying down for the first time in ages. I also got some decongestant. I went to Dollar General to get all this because I just can’t afford all of these meds at CVS or Walgreens. Dollar General has all the same stuff at much cheaper prices.

      Reply
      • I’m not really congested or anything…I just start coughing uncontrollably when I move much at all, or when I go outside…very annoying! I should go to Dollar General more often, there’s one just down the road from where I live…maybe I’ll check them out once I feel like getting out.

      • Delsym is the BEST cough syrup I have ever used! I am allergic to codeine so getting prescription cough syrup is useless. But a friend introduced me to Delsym and it is the only thing that really helps stop my cough. When I am coughing, I take Nyquil when it is time to sleep in order to just get some decent sleep. Delsym is expensive but it is worth it to me. You can get a cheaper version at Walgreens that is the same thing.

Leave a Reply

