RSS Feed

January 14, 2013

Posted on

I don’t feel well this morning. I felt kinda ugh yesterday but I chalked that up to overwork. I worked 14 hours yesterday. I was scheduled for 10 hours so I was expecting that. But then I had to stay for 4 more. That was unexpected. I wasn’t thrilled and I wasn’t feeling great. It was supposed to be my day off, but my day off always get screwed up. (Yes, I did complain and I was bitchy. Sorry, you would, too, if every Friday at 5 pm you were told, “Nope! You gotta stay til 10!”) As I talked yesterday, I found myself hating the sound of my own voice. I use a headset at work and my voice was bouncing back into my own ear and I was so fed up with it. 14 hours of BLAH, BLAH, BLAH and OMG! It is monotonous! I’m like, “Damnation! I am sick of myself and how freaking nice I sound! I do not feel this nice!” Who knew I could get sick of myself?! And my voice? OMG! Twang! I like my Southern twang usually, but yesterday? Hell no! I get twangier when I get tired. Who knew my drawl could D-R-A-W-W-W-L? It can.

So this morning I woke up with a fever, coughing, sniffly and no voice. I use my voice constantly. I can’t talk. I can strain, but it hurts. So pretty much NADA. I am on-call until Wednesday morning.  This is NOT good. I just got a co-worker to take the on-call for today. I have to go to a meeting this afternoon with other supervisors and I am going to ask another to take Tuesday just in case because I am not sure what is happening with my throat and if/when I can talk. I may have to call out sick because if I can’t talk I can’t do my job.

So now back to something food-related…the other day I wanted a chicken sandwich and a frou-frou salad for work. It was the night that I was going to work so long. I figured if I was working so long I deserved a grilled chicken salad and a funky, frou-frou salad. So I go to Wendy’s and order. “It’s going to take 11 minutes for your sandwich.” That’s what they told me. Were they trying to deter me from getting food? I got there early because I know they are slow so I said that was fine. I mean, are they chasing the chicken, killing it, plucking it, and then cooking it? So they hand me a soda out the window with NO straw and then ask me to pull into a parking space and wait. So I wait and wait and wait. I waited 20 minutes and they bring food. By this time, I am going to be late for work. Thankfully work is 3 minutes down the road. I get to work and look in the bag. My healthy dinner is not so healthy! I now have this baked potato drenched in some fake-ass cheese crap and a whole lot of it. I tried to wipe it off but that didn’t work. Then I got this salad with spicy chicken that burned my mouth. The food was less expensive than what I paid for. I called Wendy’s and let them know I was angry. It took a while to get through. I guess others were angry, too. But this just really bothered me. I TRIED to do the right thing. I really did. But because I got screwed over and couldn’t really leave to rectify it, I was stuck with nasty food and 14 hours of work. Thankfully I did have some yogurt at work. I also had some Italian dressing which toned down the salad a little, but it wasn’t really good.

So do you ever feel like no matter how hard you try that it just isn’t working? I mean, I realize there wasn’t that much effort in it. But I had good intentions! I was going to do the right thing for a change! I really was. I wasn’t going to eat the bad foods. I was going to eat something decent for a change.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

4 responses »

  1. Don’t you just hate it when a fast food place messes up your order and you can’t leave work to get what you originally ordered? Ever notice it seems to be the same restaurants that get your order wrong on a fairly consistent basis? Hmm…we should boycott them. I actually planned not to eat out at all this month and then yesterday one of the girls I work with asked if I wanted cheesy bread for lunch. Without giving it a thought, I said yes…later I realized what I had done…oh boy…

    Reply
    • I know what you mean! It’s like our brain wants that crazy food without us having any real say until it has been done. I plan to not use that place after I get my free meal. I’m tired of that crap.

      Reply
  2. oh…I hope you’re feeling better now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

