RSS Feed

January 11, 2013

Posted on

So I had something happen last night that was nice and yet causes me problems. My coworker didn’t see me on my birthday and so she wanted to do something nice for my birthday. That’s nice, right? I think so. So she brought in food from one of my favorite fast food places. Remember that burger with the chili, onions and slaw? Yeah. That place. Also fries and the best flipping milkshake ever. How do I say no to that? I didn’t. I couldn’t. And what was sooooo bad? I had gone to the grocery store and bought good food. Like stuff to make a healthy dinner. I had gotten smoked turkey, Flat Out flatbread, salad, bell peppers, Italian dressing, grapes and yogurt. Healthy food! I was going to make this wonderful wrap filled with lettuce and peppers and some turkey and the dressing was going to be my fat. I was going to eat grapes and/or yogurt as dessert or snacks depending on my fullness. I had a freaking plan! I really did!

So I left the food at work for tonight. Friday night I usually am running late and end up ordering pizza. Not tonight. I do not want pizza. Actually I am kinda pizza’d out. I actually DO want a healthy wrap instead. I do want some grapes instead. Yeah, I know that sounds odd for a fat chick to say, but I am really tired of some things.

Last night eating that burger, it was ok, but it wasn’t great. I think a lot of it was mental. I knew I had a plan and I was eating it because I didn’t want to hurt her feelings. I didn’t eat the fries. I ate a few but frankly I was too full to eat them all and plus they just didn’t taste that great warmed up. I couldn’t eat them right away and I was so busy when I got to work that it was about 3 hours before I could warm up my food to eat anything. I actually got more pleasure from the onions, chili and slaw on the burger and that did remind me of my quest to try to make that at home. I could make a veggie burger with some chili, slaw and some kind of chili. We’ll see. I won’t lie, though. I did love that milkshake. It was so good. I was thirsty, though, and I needed and wanted something COLD! But it was so sweet and yummy. I don’t know if I could replicate that.

I suppose the road to hell is paved with good intentions, right?

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

Leave a Reply

