RSS Feed

November 20, 2012

Posted on

I have been so busy lately! It seems that I have been working non-stop! And then I come home and try to sleep and my leafblowing man is trying like mad to get rid of the leaves and I think he is fighting a losing battle and is depriving me of much needed sleep. Have you ever noticed that if you don’t sleep well that it really screws with the rest of your life? I mean if I don’t sleep well I am grouchy as a mean ol’ bear. Then I tend to be hungrier and of course I don’t eat the things that are good for me during those times because I am trying to usually raise my mood and what does that? Carbs usually! It’s like nature’s Prozac or something. Instant seratonin elevator. Then there is the crash! And there goes the mood again.

I was talking about moods and foods with a friend at work recently. We discussed how low blood sugar can really cause the grumps, too. Shove a piece of sugar in our mouths when we’re feeling that way and it is like an instant mood picker-upper.  Have you ever noticed that about yourself? Next time you’re feeling meaner than a snake, ask yourself when the last time you ate was. You might need to bring up your blood sugar levels.

I am wondering what people are doing for Thanksgiving. I will be working. Holidays are pretty much just another day for me. I mean, I celebrate them in my heart and stuff but as far as the work-week goes, I don’t get time off for them. Work is supposed to be getting us some food but I have no idea what. I asked and got a terse response that yes they would be getting food and that was it. Ok….Thanks. 🙂

Hope everyone is doing well. I am much more positive than I have been in a while. I think my creative streak kicked in and it’s been like nuts!

 

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh, yes…sleep deprivation and low blood sugar…I have the same reactions that you do to both of them. I can always tell when I need to stop and eat something at work because I start getting short with people…then, a little while after eating, everything’s fine again. And lack of sleep really causes my legs to ache…weird.

    I’ll be working on Thanksgiving too…yippee! I can honestly say we’ll be having a great feast for the holiday weekend (starting on Thursday) because I’m the one who planned it and went out and bought what we needed. The others are bringing in side dishes and desserts, probably some snacky type foods too…so we’ll have plenty. One of the guys is baking a turkey and I have a ham in the oven as we speak. We always do that rather than buy cold cuts or fried chicken or pizza…sure makes the money they give us go a lot further.

    I kind of resent having to work every Thanksgiving because I have to totally miss family get-togethers since I live away from my home town…no time to drive down there and make it back in time to open the store. And it’s likely I’ll miss the Christmas get-together this year too since I’m in the store manager’s position now and have to work six days a week and every weekend. I kind of had today off…kind of…went to the store and bought bottles water, soda, tea, snacks, candy, chips, condiments, and the aforementioned ham, stopped at the store to drop things off, found out the district manager had called wanting to talk to me so had to call him back,then found out we were having a conference call. So, once I got home, I managed to do a couple of quick things and then had to get on the conference call for 45 minutes. Still need to make out next week’s schedule today…nice day off, huh?

    Anyhow…Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply
    • i have no clue as to what the food will be. manager didn’t tell me. we’ll see. sorry you’re having to work. just proves how damned important we are!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

