RSS Feed

October 23, 2012

Posted on

I have figured out how much my job contributes to my unhealthy eating. This week I have worked such crazy hours and I am so tired. I ate convenience food. I did have a salad one day but it was convenient. It was really good, but if it hadn’t been easy to get I wouldn’t have eaten it. The other day I went into work what was supposed to be a short 4 hour shift at work. My relief called out. Four hours turned into 12. I hadn’t planned on that long so there was no meal prep. I was glad I had left my handy dandy hummus in the fridge along with some of my tasty pita chips in my locker. That was dinner and a snack! And thankfully I had taken a 2 liter of Diet Mtn Dew with me. I couldn’t leave to go get anything and frankly I was pizza’d out. People think I exaggerate about how things happen at work. I don’t. I usually end up staying late daily. I get called in frequently. This has been my on-call week and I was also scheduled for 46 hours initially for the week. Then there are the obligatory call-outs. My organization has to cover the shift. You don’t just say so-and-so will deal with it tomorrow. We have to have a set number of people on duty all the time. So this week I have worked over 60 hours. Sleeping during the day is next to impossible because the world operates during the day. It takes me about 10 hours to achieve about 7 hours sleep. Between this week and last, my paycheck will have 38 hours of overtime on it.

So if you’re wondering why I’m grouchy, this is why. I’m tired. Sorry. Next week will be better I hope!

 

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. A hectic schedule (stress, fatigue, and no time to prepare meals) can definitely contribute to weight issues. I hope you’re able to work around it!

    – K.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

