RSS Feed

October 12, 2012

Posted on

I have been so sick this week. I think it has been a combo of allergies/cold/sinus infection. I have been a walking and almost-breathing snot ball. I wish I had time to take off from work to just heal but I didn’t. I had to just work. I feel bad because I did get a coworker sick. Poor thing sat beside me and got sick. I was using hand sanitizer, washing my hands and sneezing into tissue or into my inner elbow. It wasn’t enough. I am almost well, but not 100%. I feel ugh. I would love to just stay home tonight and rest and I think it would fix things but that is not going to happen.

I have noticed when I am sick my food cravings are quite different. I think a lot of that has to do with the fact that my taste buds are off and I am having trouble tasting. I want to taste but my taste buds are kind of like numb. I had a big ol burrito from Taco Hell last night. It was tasty. Why? Because it had lots of spice! I could taste it. I used a lot of the Mild Sauce. I can’t use the Fire Sauce. That would have blown my head off. But have you ever noticed that you just can’t taste anything and you’re hungry? So you have to eat something spicy. I know this isn’t ground-breaking news. But the thing is that the burrito I had was so good. I was so hungry. I hadn’t eaten and needed something and that spicy burrito did the trick.

Anyway, I gotta get ready for work. My head is hurting and I gotta get a hot shower so I can face the night.

 

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

4 responses »

  1. Aww…sorry you’ve been so sick…hope you’re back to your normal, energetic self soon!!

    Reply
    • Thanks, girl! My work schedule for the next couple of weeks kinda isn’t helping. I am on call and will be working 6 days straight. I am not real thrilled. And there is the fact that I am on call. 😦 They have me all off kilter this week because I am off tonight but have to work tomorrow. I am quite confused. I usually memorize my schedule. I had to bring the paper home so I could know when I was working. 🙂

      Reply
      • My boss makes out my schedule according to the company guidelines, then tells me to come in at all kinds of different times…hard to remember when I’m working or even what day it is…gotta love it. He’s even talking about having folks be on call…not thinking I’d like that much…

        I guess you’ll just have to try to get as much rest as you can when you’re not working…it’s hard tho when you have all of that work related stuff floating around inside your head, I know. I should be going to bed right about now but I’m not at all sleepy…might have something to do with that diet Pepsi I drank a little while ago…yikes!!

      • well everybody wants off next week and it seems there are more people off than there are working. i hope people will consider that when they think about calling out.

Leave a Reply

