RSS Feed

Crock Pot Santa Fe Chicken

Posted on

Found a great website! WONDERFUL! http://www.Skinnytaste.com Loved this website. If you need something good and yummy, go here!!!!

 

1 1/2 pounds chicken breast half without skin
1 can canned tomatoes with green chiles
1 can black beans
8 ounces frozen corn
14 ounces chicken broth
3 each scallions, chopped
1 teaspoon garlic
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon cumin powder
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
salt and pepper, to taste

Combine chicken broth, beans, corn, tomatoes, cilantro, scallions, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, cayenne pepper and salt in the crock pot. Season chicken breast with salt and lay on top. Cook on low for 10 hours or on high for 6 hours. Half hour before serving, remove chicken and shred. Return chicken to slow cooker and stir in. Adjust salt and seasoning. Serve over rice or in a tortilla (extra pts).

Serves 8.

Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 200 Calories; 2g Fat (8.1% calories from fat); 23g Protein; 23g Carbohydrate; 5g Dietary Fiber; 39mg Cholesterol; 326mg Sodium.

Exchanges: 1 1/2 Grain(Starch); 2 1/2 Lean Meat; 1/2 Vegetable; 0 Fat.

 

 

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

9 responses »

  1. You’re giving me all kinds of good ideas..yum! I baked a pizza casserole today…lunch for the week for work!

    Reply
    • So glad! I’m trying to get motivated! I just helped my bestie with her dinner. 🙂

      Reply
    • Oh….and pizza casserole sounds yum! Recipe?

      Reply
    • this is my first visit. This is a MUST cook for me. So excited! We are not so much into spice. Should I use cumin (never have)- cayenne?- would it work to simply add chili powder? your thoughts oh master chef??

      Reply
      • I think you could definitely eliminate the cayenne if you are worried about heat and go with chili powder. I would use some cumin because it gives an earthy flavor to it. Cumin is very flavorful and a little bit packs a punch. And it is very earthy. It can even kind of smell like B.O. if you use too much. LOL But it adds this undertone of flavor that is just really tasty. You just have to be careful with how much you use. Also some people like cilantro and some people don’t. I don’t like much. It’s a very bitter flavor for me. I use a little as garnish and a tad in my pico de gallo. That is it. Some people like bitter. I don’t. I think the key with cooking is to realize that recipes are guidelines and not absolutes. A lot of spices are interchangeable and/or able to be substituted. So if you think cayenne might be too hot, use chili powder! It isn’t as hot but gives the same essence. And if you like it, then that is all that matters! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! It makes me proud that you thought enough to come back . Hugs to ya, girlie!

  2. It’s in the crock pot now!! I’m so excited. Got to find my next recipe, no. I like this one because it has all my favorites in there and has protein and vegetables- which is what my doc is saying to do. Day 4 of NO processed foods.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Autumn Sausage Casserole « Living Too Large

Leave a Reply

