RSS Feed

Amy’s Chili

Posted on

This is often requested at work. I haven’t made it for them in a while. If they behave, I might make it for them. Two key words in that last sentence. 😉 This is very filling and DELICIOUS! Sometimes I top with a smidge of sour cream and a bit of cheddar and then throw some corn chips in it. So flipping good that way!

A sauce containing tomato puree, diced tomatoe...

1/2 pound ground beef
1/2 pound ground turkey
1 large onion, diced
1/4 cup carrots, diced fine
1 1/2 packages prepared chili seasoning mix , you pick the hotness
1 can pinto beans
1 can black beans
28 ounces crushed tomatoes
1 can diced tomatoes
1 cup frozen corn kernels
1/2 cup water
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1. Brown beef and turkey with onion and carrots. Drain.

2. In a large pot add meat mixture with all of the other ingredients except cinnamon. Stir well.

3. Simmer until the ingredients have come to the consistency desired.

4. Add cinnamon and simmer about 10 minutes more to allow the cinnamon to infuse into the chili.

5. Serve hot!

Serves 10.

Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 285 Calories; 9g Fat (27.0% calories from fat); 18g Protein; 36g Carbohydrate; 10g Dietary Fiber; 37mg Cholesterol; 148mg Sodium.

Exchanges: 2 Grain(Starch); 1 1/2 Lean Meat; 1 1/2 Vegetable; 1 Fat.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

3 responses »

  1. I think I may make up a pot of chili on my next day off…

    Reply
  2. I ❤ chili! It is soooo good! I love it with some fritos in it with a dollop of sour cream and a tad of cheddar! I like to use the crushed tomatoes mostly and add a little of the diced ones. It just gives me more of the soup that I am looking for. Do you have a favorite kind?

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Southwest Lasagna « Living Too Large

Leave a Reply

