RSS Feed

Wonder about Calories in Foods?

Posted on

I love recipes. I always have, even as a kid. I have always loved to cook. I don’t think I really got that from my mother. I think she cooked out of necessity. Well, lemme take that back. At Christmas time we baked. (I only bake at Christmas and I am only good at a few things that are so fattening that when you look at the recipe your arteries begin to clog and your ass begins to instantly expand.)

I love to cook more savory dishes and I have been advised to look at the diabetic exchanges, which is why I try to post the exchanges when I can. But a lot of sites and recipes don’t have these listed and I want to know what they are! So how do I get these? I use a software program called MasterCook Deluxe. I bought it off Ebay for less than $15 last year. The program comes with a lot of its own cookbooks on it, but you can create your own. I can adjust recipes and play with them to make them calorie-friendly. I can scale them. It gives me all of the information I need about the recipe once I have put all the ingredients in and the amount of servings I expect the recipe to make. It’s invaluable for me.

I know some people are like, “Well there are lots of things online!” Yes, there are. Great things. But MasterCook Deluxe gives me exactly what I want. I can get the exchanges as well as all the other nutritional information. After I have put a recipe in, I can go back to the recipe and if I am having a larger group I can scale it to a larger group without having to do all the math. (Yes, I am lazy.) It makes it easy to copy and paste recipes to the blog. I just thought you might be interested in a tool that has helped me. Plus there were recipes I use personally that I didn’t get from a recipe online that I wanted to know the calorie content. MasterCook Deluxe helped me know exactly what was in it.

In addition to that, MasterCook Deluxe can help you organize your recipes. It also helps you make grocery lists.  So there are lots of other helpful things in the program, too!

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

Leave a Reply

