RSS Feed

Roasted Carrot Hummus

Posted on
roasted carrot hummus

roasted carrot hummus

I was reading some recipes on hummus and ran across one for carrot hummus that sounded interesting but not good. Then I started searching. I couldn’t find one that sounded just right. So here is my amalgamation of ingredients gathered and the recipe that I figured would work. This has NOT been tried, tested or anything yet. I think this might be good. If you try it and hate it, it was just numbers that sounded good. If you love it, it was just numbers that sounded good that worked and I am brilliant. Brag about me! Tell people how freaking awesome I am. I just wanted to get this out of my head and out there. If you do try it before me, LET ME KNOW! I want to know what you think!

1/2 pound carrots
15 ounces garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
6 cloves garlic
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons cumin
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 cup tahini
2 lemons, zested and juiced
1/2 teaspoon paprika

1. Preheat the oven to 450°F. In a roasting pan or on a large rimmed baking sheet, combine the carrots and garlic with the 2 tbsp. oil, 1-1/2 tsp cumin, and salt. Roast the carrots, stirring occasionally, until tender and browned, about 25 to 30 minutes.Cool.

2. In a food processor, pulse the carrots and garlic until chopped. Add the garbanzo beans, tahini, lemon juice, and lemon zest; pulse until blended.

3. Transfer hummus to bowl. Drizzle with additional olive oil and sprinkle with a bit of smoked paprika.

Serve with fresh veggies, pita chips, on a wrap, or as a snack.

8 servings.

Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 303 Calories; 13g Fat (35.5% calories from fat); 12g Protein; 39g Carbohydrate; 11g Dietary Fiber; 0mg Cholesterol; 150mg Sodium.

Exchanges: 2 1/2 Grain(Starch); 1/2 Lean Meat; 1/2 Vegetable; 0 Fruit; 2 Fat.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. I think this sounds good, pinned it..of course, that doesn’t mean I’m actually going to make it…but I know where to find the recipe if I ever decide to try it…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

