RSS Feed

September 24, 2012

Posted on

Last week I was thanking God for Slim Fast! I wasn’t drinking it to lose weight. I was drinking it to have something in me. I had a stomach bug that wouldn’t go away!  Then it finally did go away and I was starving. I got called into work because I was the on call person and I was told that I had to be there within an hour and no, I wouldn’t be able to leave to go grab something for dinner because I couldn’t leave the employees alone. This posed a big dilemma food-wise because having been sick earlier in the week I did well to have clean clothes. I didn’t have time to shop for food. So I had to order food. The only food delivery we have is pizza. I ordered pizza. What I really wanted was Subway, which would have taken me 15 minutes to go get. But no…..I couldn’t go get that because I couldn’t leave the premises because the employees might need me. I got a P’zone because they’re not as greasy and you control the sauce. It would also be easier on my stomach.

It is frustrating, though. Supervisors deserve a lunch, too. I normally don’t get any breaks at all during my shift and I am used to that. But I know when I am going in and plan for it. If I need to stop at the store, I get up earlier and get ready earlier so I can leave earlier. I make the time to stop. But this was just thrown at me and I am told, “Get here now!” And there is just no consideration that I have been sick all week and I have been doing well to even work and now I need to get something to eat and have no way of doing so. It is frustrating as hell. And I don’t need others making snarky-ass comments about it. Unless you’re bringing me a sandwich, just shut up and go away! I got work to do!

On the plus side, my sweet cats are adorable! When I was sick they sat right beside me the whole time. Normally Soleil is screaming her head off when the food bowl isn’t 2/3 full. Not this time. She saw dear ol’ Mom felt like crap and just slept with me. Chloe usually ignores me but she was right beside me the whole time, too. Sweet babies!

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. Glad you’re feeling better..I totally understand how it is to not get breaks at work…I usually keep a couple of frozen meals in the freezer in the breakroom (with my name on them, otherwise who knows what will happen to them) for situations like that…not that that means I’ll actually have the time to sit down and eat…

    Reply
    • thanks. when i work my normal shift i know i am not going to get a break. none. but when i work the other shifts i am supposed to…but to have an hour after being woken to get there? near impossible

      Reply

Leave a Reply

