RSS Feed

Pineapple Chicken Salad

Posted on
Pineapple Chicken Salad

Pineapple Chicken Salad

  • 2 1/2 cups chopped cooked chicken breast (about 1 pound)
  • 1/2 cup matchstick-cut carrots
  • 1/3 cup sliced almonds, toasted
  • 1/3 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped green onions
  • 1/4 cup plain fat-free yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 (8-ounce) can crushed pineapple in juice, drained
  • 4 (6-inch) whole wheat pitas, each cut in half
  • 8 Romaine lettuce leaves

Combine first 11 ingredients in a large bowl, stirring well. Line each pita half with 1 lettuce leaf; fill each half with 1/3 cup chicken mixture.

Nutritional Information

Amount per serving

  • Calories: 471
  • Calories from fat: 30%
  • Fat: 15.5g
  • Saturated fat: 2.5g
  • Monounsaturated fat: 5.4g
  • Polyunsaturated fat: 6.2g
  • Protein: 36.8g
  • Carbohydrate: 48.8g
  • Fiber: 7.2g
  • Cholesterol: 82mg
  • Iron: 3.9mg
  • Sodium: 776mg
  • Calcium: 98mg

Recipe retrieved from Cooking Light.

I haven’t made this yet. I would probably use real mayo and cut that down and use more yogurt. I just prefer a real mayo taste and I hate the texture of light mayo. I would have less real mayo and get the flavor and texture than have more of the fake stuff. I would probably also make this using a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store. It is actually a little more economical for me to purchase it that way. It’s precooked and I don’t have to cook and season. I know there is white and dark meat on it, but that is ok.

Also with the calories on this sandwich being so high, I would really have to watch my other calories throughout the day. But chicken and pineapple are generally something I love and are pretty good for me. According to the Eat Right for Your Type diet, these are actually beneficial for me, so this might be pretty good for me.

I have made this type of chicken salad using apples and/or grapes, too. For some reason chicken tastes really good with fruit. I can see using fresh pineapple instead of canned as well, if I had that on hand. I might even use pears in it as well. Hmmm…lots of ideas!

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

3 responses »

  1. Yum…this looks good too! I agree, chicken and turkey go well with fruit.

    Reply
    • I will sometimes get a rotisserie and even if I’m not making a “salad” just eat it with fruit. Like some chicken with grapes and maybe a piece of cheddar. Just simple and easy and really yummy. But this just looked soooooo good. 🙂

      Reply
  2. This does sound really good. Thanks for sharing !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

