RSS Feed

Healthy Foods to Lose Weight – Foods That Help You Lose Weight – Good Housekeeping

Posted on

A lot of people look to Good Housekeeping as a standard of good information. They even have the Good Housekeeping Seal of Approval, which can boost a product’s sales. So when they promote foods that are beneficial to weight loss, I am going to read it. I read through this slideshow and found it interesting. They list foods and beverages, so the title was a little misleading. But the list was interesting. Of course the good ol’ standby, grapefruit, was on there. But there were other things such as lean red meat that threw me for a loop. Read through it and see what you think! Let me know. Have you ever heard of some of these?

Healthy Foods to Lose Weight – Foods That Help You Lose Weight – Good Housekeeping.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

4 responses »

  1. I think these were great! They are foods high in fiber and I liked the emphasis on lean meats, vegetarian alternatives and veggies.

    Reply
    • I thought it was really interesting. One thing I have heard is that fresh pineapple is as beneficial as grapefruit in aiding weight loss. Not sure. I may have to try an experiment and see. I hate grapefruit and adore pineapple!

      Reply
  2. I like the list, in general. The difficulty is to make sure portion distortion doesn’t make trouble in a few of these. Eggs are fat sneaks–one egg is more calories than an ounce of lean beef or two ounces of poultry. If one can handle using egg whites alone? Then egg whites are amazing protein sources. Tofu also has hidden fat, though it is vegetable fat as opposed to animal fat. I think if it as “soybean cheese”, though it’s lowfat in comparison to classic dairy cheeses. Nuts are also one of those things–a quarter-cup of nuts is 200 to 225 calories, depending. Nuts can trigger a binge (salt, fat) on, well, nuts. Historically, I have been able to eat thousands of calories of them in a sitting (an ounce being 200 calories of mostly vegetable fat, a pound being about 3200 calories).

    Choosing olive oil over other oils is great, but it’s not lower in calories–just heart-smart. The vegetable, soup, tea, fruit are all great choices. And cinnamon can impart the sense of sweet while only adding negligible calories.

    I apologize that I am calorie-minded, here. I find that a lot of these deal with your average normal eater’s need to substitute this-for-that in order to make things better. It doesn’t work so well for binge-eaters looking for alternatives. Most binge-eaters I know are experts on nutrition. We know very well what to eat. We often don’t eat it because of the feelings of despair after depriving ourselves and still having no results.

    That said, these changes, even implemented in addiction, can help us retain our best health until we commit to a food plan which gives us clarity and helps us on the path to clarity.

    Thank you, Amy, for the work you’ve put into this journal to help open eyes and give hope.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Your Fat Loss Diet Program - Renewed Energy! | Customized Fat Loss Review + Excellent Bonus

Leave a Reply

