September 9, 2012

Posted on

 

I think McDonald’s is trying to discourage me from going there. That might be a good thing! I went and saw they have new signs. The signs have the calories on them! OMG! Talk about freaky! I almost just drove off. You notice the key word almost. I didn’t. I was bad. I was hungry, aggravated, tired, and multiple other lazy words. I caved. I ate a lot of calories. (And McDonald’s told me I did!)

So does your McDonald’s now post the calories? Does that help discourage you? Does it make you feel guilty? How do you feel?

I felt guilty! But I did it anyway. 😦 I don’t know that I will do it again, though. There was some shame afterwards. I think this must be what a one-night-stand is like, except it was with a breakfast bagel!

I’m going to take my morning after nap now and suffer in my shame. Have a good day.

 

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

4 responses »

  1. I had heard that McDonalds was going to start posting the calorie counts of their menu items, but it’s been so long since I’ve eaten there that I didn’t realize they’d actually done it. How would it make me feel? Not sure…I guess if I were in my trying to eat healthier mode, I’d appreciate the help with deciphering nutritional content on their items, but in my “I don’t care, I just want it” times, I’d probably not appreciate seeing how many calories I was eating. I have noticed lately that fast food isn’t tasting as good to me as it once did…and that’s probably a good thing, right?

    Reply
    • I think it is good that it doesn’t taste so good. I have noticed I am not enjoying it either. I really didn’t like it too much after reading that sign! It really made the whole experience pretty bad. I don’t know if they were forced to do it or what, but they pretty much lost a customer, which is good for me! 🙂 I just can’t stand having those numbers stare back at me as I order.

      Reply
  2. What bothers e about MCDonald’s is that they’ve taken healthy alternatives and snuck in sugar, fat, and salt. Their addition of oatmeal was excellent; their implementation was miserable. Also, the fact that what I’ve seen about their hamburgers and fries not rotting ( m.refinery29.com/happy-meal-art-project? ) bothers me quite a lot. Now, twelve years in unrealistic, but kept from moisture? They don’t appear to rot in the same way other burgers of the same size and type do.

    Reply

Leave a comment