RSS Feed

Vitamin D

Posted on

The other day I was telling you all that I have a deficiency in Vitamin B12. I am also quite deficient in Vitamin D as well. I work third shift and rarely see the sun. The most common way to get Vitamin D is through exposure to the sun. Because I am almost a vampire (except for the fact I don’t drink blood) I am rarely out and about when the sun is. It’s kind of hard to do this when that is when I should be sleeping.

I have come to find out, though, that Vitamin D is really crucial. I told you about when I had my blood tested and they were concerned about the B. Well, they were even more freaked out about the D. They told me a normal number is somewhere close to 50. Mine was 5. The nurse was calling in prescription strength pills immediately. They did tell me this could definitely be part of why I was so tired.

Due to all of this mini-drama, I decided to do some more digging. I knew Vitamin D was important. I just didn’t realize HOW important.

According to Kris Kris Evidence-Based Nutrition, Vitamin D can do the following:

  • Reduce chances of heart disease
  • Dramatically reduce chances of cancer
  • Extremely helpful against osteoporosis
  • Very good for the immune system
  • Helps fight depression
  • Reduces acne
  • Helps reduce chances of getting Alzheimers
  • May also help with weight loss
  • Help prevent pathological muscle weakness
  • Combat type II diabetes and the metabolic syndrome

I just recently bought some Vitamin D and liquid B12. Look for sales at your local pharmacies. Many of them have buy-one-get-one-free sales frequently.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. Yeah, issues with not getting the B-Complex vitamins (and iron!) are definitely big women’s nutritional issues. I’ve heard and read a lot on it (two pregnancies, one anemic), and I sometimes will use discretionary calories for a B-Vitamin shake from Odwalla or Naked Juice during “that time of the month.”

    You’re doing great in your self-care, Amy. Keep going. You’re making progress. You really are, and your self-awareness is fantastic! Thank you so much for sharing it with all of us. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Lol, I am so sorry. I was thinking of your later post about multivitamins, in general. As for Vitamin D? I drink 1% A & D fortified milk and get the rest from as balanced a diet I can get. though I will probably be going back to multivitamins again, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

