RSS Feed

B12 Deficiency

Posted on

 

I have a Vitamin B12 deficiency. It’s called Pernicious Anemia. This is a serious problem for me because it causes serious lethargy. For the last few years I have been exhausted. I thought I was just tired. Then we thought maybe it was depression. But when my blood was checked, my doctor was very concerned. They wanted me to come in for shots but I can’t afford to take shots all the time. And as I have stated in other posts, I am a procrastinator. I put off taking care of myself like I should. so today I purchased some liquid B12. Why liquid? Liquid gets in your system better and just is easier for me to absorb. It’s almost as good as a shot and it is fast acting.

You may wonder if B12 is that big of a deal. It really is. According to Web MD:

“If your vitamin B12 deficiency is mild, you may not have symptoms or you may not notice them. Some people may think they are just the result of growing older. As the anemia gets worse, you may:

If the level of vitamin B12 stays low for a long time, it can damage your nerve cells. If this happens, you may have:

  • Numbness or tingling in your fingers and toes.
  • A poor sense of balance.
  • Depression.
  • Dementia, a loss of mental abilities.”

That’s some serious business. What have my symptoms been? Weakness, tiredness,  lightheadedness, pale skin, some numbness and tingling which I hope and pray is not long-term nerve damage, and depression.

Don’t take B12 when you are ready for sleep. You won’t sleep well. It’s good for energy. Take it when it is time to be awake. I plan to take mine to work with me so I can go ahead and just do a dropperful when I get to work and be ready to go!

To find out more about B12 deficiency, you can go to WebMD and read more.

 

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. Oh, man! I think you hit on something I’ve been neglecting in my self-care! I knew all about the B-Complex deficiency causing problems, but not on this scale. What’s scarier? I am worried I’m on that edge. Yikes!

    Thank you, Amy, for putting this out there; I am going to run out and get vitamins tonight. I get nutrition, but something’s not quite right, and I need more. Something I am doing is cutting into what I’m putting into my body, and I am seeing the effects.

    Reply
    • I found that I am just lethargic without it. It is surprising and even alarming how a deficiency can affect us. When I started putting together my symptoms with my deficiency it all made sense. I was lucky that my doctor ran a CBC and was concerned about the vitamin and minerals and focused on that instead of throwing me on meds. I use Nature’s Bounty liquid B-12 because it is 5000 mcg rather than the 1000mcg in the other liquid B-12 I was finding. I got mine at Walgreens. It is berry flavored and tastes pretty good. I also take my Vitamin D. It really helps with energy! I hope this helps! Let me know. 🙂

      A lot of us don’t realize that we’re not getting the proper amount of vitamins and minerals. We think if we are eating then we are getting what we need. I used to think like that. But some of us do not metabolize or absorb these things properly and need to take in more. I was surprised as I read up on this that the numbers were so high.

      Take care of yourself! You are a priceless commodity! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

