RSS Feed

July 31, 2012

Posted on

Nothing like remembering you have a 12 hour shift ahead of you. Thankfully I remembered early enough to go ahead and get ready to get some sleep. So I am winding down now and waiting for the heavy eyes to kick in. But ya know what my thought was after I realized I had to work 12 hours tonight? “Oh shit! What am I going to eat?!” I hate that food is that big of a deal. I mean, yeah you need to eat, but it shouldn’t send you into a mini-panic attack. So I calmed myself and told myself that I could stop at the grocery store on the way to work and get some watermelon that has been chopped up already and some sandwich stuff or pre-made sandwiches. That would make sure that I had food. But for a moment I was a mess. I may get a bagged salad, too.

But this all made me realize I really need to plan better. My lack of planning seems to really screw me over a lot. And part of that is because I live 5 minutes from the grocery store. My philosophy seems to be that if I don’t have it, the grocery store is just 5 minutes away. But it is not always convenient to stop at the store. So this was a minor victory, I suppose. I had a lightbulb moment! I don’t consider myself to be a dumb person, but damn! I do some dumb things!

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. It’s okay, Amy. Our choices and the consequences are how we learn alternatives to it–both good and bad. Sometimes the bad are better, because we’re more aware of what we want to avoid than embrace.

    Reply
    • I’m learning. It’s so funny that I know these things and yet I still do it wrong. But like this morning I was proud of myself. I wanted McDonalds but I didn’t get it. I just went home after work. I was tired and just came on home. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

