RSS Feed

July 27, 2012

Posted on

I knew I shouldn’t do it. So why did I? I was at the grocery store and bought a small pack of cheese danish. Just a couple in the pack. Do you think I ate just one? HELL NO! This is why I can’t have stuff in the house. I’m a freaking addict. I know I can’t have this stuff so I usually don’t buy it, but when I do…I suppose the saying “Go big or go home” really is appropriate. Well, except for the fact that I was at home. Eating danish. I was tired. I was not THAT hungry. It just tasted soooo good. And I couldn’t resist. So I suppose I will not be buying stupid danish again. I just have no self-control when it comes to those things.

I really disappointed myself and pissed myself off. I mean, I know better than to do that. I just wanted something sweet. And once I got that bite, it’s like common sense left my head and all I could think about was those sweet sensations. I suppose the positive side is that I just bought a small pack.

Well I can’t change it now. I’ll just be better later!

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

2 responses »

  1. I heard at a meeting, once, that everything came in a serving size of one for that person. I agreed wholeheartedly; I think everyone in the room agreed. Please don’t kick yourself over it–this wasn’t a failure or a mistake which defines you. This was a learning opportunity about the unmanageability of life in certain situations and how food and you relate during those times.

    I’ve been there. I used to be a Pounder. I’d buy cookies or candy or chips in the pound-size (or bigger–usually the Family size) and eat it in a sitting. Sometimes with a pound of another in that list. So, I understand that if I’m going to eat something for pleasure over nutrition (which is a normal-eater thing to do), I self-care by choosing a single-serving size. So, I suppose next time, self-care that pleasure-eating. Get one, but get a good one from a bakery, made that morning. Why not enjoy what you eat, right?

    Reply
  2. I have learned that if I am going to splurge to not buy more than one. If I do…well, it is CHAOS! It certainly taught me something. I truly realized I was an addict and that certain foods are the ones that send me over the edge. Cheese danish is one. I also find that certain times of day are bad for me as well. That was right after work and I was tired, hungry,and frustrated from a long night of dealing with craziness. So I dealt with craziness through food. So it definitely was a learning experience. One that I don’t care to repeat. Honestly I didn’t feel well afterwards with that sickeningly sweet aftertaste.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

