RSS Feed

What’s So Bad About Diet Soda?

Posted on

English: this image is a picture of a diet mou...

You hear all these negative things about soda and usually pooh-pooh them. Well I have been really thinking about them. Mind you, I am NOT an expert. I am a caffeine junkie. I live off Diet Mountain Dew. When I used to smoke, I jokingly said my main vitamins were caffeine and nicotine. Now it is just caffeine. Frankly, I don’t think caffeine is still so terrible. Quantity is what we should watch out for. I shouldn’t have the quantity that I use, but I work at night and I am fighting my natural rhythm.

So why am I wondering about what I love so much? I have noticed how thirsty I am lately. A lot of it has to do with the fact that I have been sick most of 2013. I have had sinus issues and if any of you have dealt with that, you know you have to drink a lot. I have drunk my trusty ol’ Diet Mountain Dew and I need more and more to feel satisfied and my tongue feels like sandpaper. Also, I have found that I have had some swelling, mostly visible in extremities. This made me wonder if it was related to the extra soda. I think it does. I feel like it may be making me dehydrated even though I am drinking a lot.

I have a sneaking suspicion I am going to have to start cutting back on something I have been drinking 2/3 of my life. Do I like this? NOOOOOO!!!!!! I’m not cutting it out cold turkey. I already have headache issues. I’m not going into withdrawals. I am going to start cutting back. I am also going to start substituting lots of water and tea. (I am Southern after all! We like our Sweet Tea! And yes, it will be LIGHTLY sweetened with sugar. I am not heavy-handed with the sugar but I don’t like brewed dirt.) So I think I have to look at this issue and fix it.

I found an article titled the same as my blog at Diabetes Mine. Check it out and see what you think.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

8 responses »

  1. there’s a ton of sodium in that…which would maybe account for you being thirsty and retaining fluid. Also, as a female you need to be concerned with the fact soft drinks leach calcium from your bones.

    Reply
  2. When you start researching what they put in all soda, not just diet soda, it’s pretty scary…like you, I’ve been a diet soda (diet Pepsi for me, please) drinker for years…I love the taste of it, the sound when you open it, the fizz…uh yeah…addicted much? But I’ve been cutting back and haven’t had headaches from it. Well, I have been drinking iced tea instead, sweetened with stevia, so i’m getting the caffeine…I think tea is maybe not so bad for you…at least it’s somewhat natural…But working thirds like you do would be rough…I’d have to have lots of caffeine to make it thru…

    Reply
    • I have to have caffeine. And I really don’t think caffeine is so bad since it is pretty natural. I think that it’s all the other stuff. I noticed how much different I felt the other day when I drank tea as compared to Diet Dew. The tea quenched my thirst much more. I know I need more water. There is no denying that and I am just going to have to drink it. I have figured out that I prefer it cold and filtered. Dasani is my preferred brand. It is a crisp flavor compared to the others. But the Diet Dew is going to be cut back. Period.

      Reply
      • Knowing how much you like tea, have you tried the Lipton To-Go? I like to take one to work to add to water…I really only like the black tea, honey and lemon one…don’t care for any kind of tea with peaches or raspberry flavorings. Yeah, I don’t think caffeine is a bad thing either…keeps me going some days…

      • I haven’t tried that. Good stuff? I hate too many flavorings to tea. I grew up on brewed black tea and I love it. Not huge fan of green tea. Drink frou-frou coffee.

      • The Lipton is pretty good…very convenient for work…and not too lemony…I’m the same with green tea…most that I’ve had kind of tastes like I went outside and pulled a few weeds to brew..ick! I have found one chai green tea that I like tho, can’t remember the brand offhand…maybe Stash?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

