RSS Feed

Slow Cooker Beef Stew

Posted on

Slow cooker, crock pot. Whatever! They make life easier. Right? You can make this and eat and save some for later. That way you can enjoy and enjoy and enjoy!

beef stew

beef stew

4 pounds roast, trimmed, cubed
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup olive oil
2 large onion, diced
6 ounces tomato paste
1 cup red wine
1 pound potato, cubed
1/2 pound baby carrots
2 cups beef broth
1 tablespoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon thyme
1 bay leaf
1 cup frozen peas

Coat the beef in the flour. Heat a few tablespoons of the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Brown the meat, a few pieces at a time, adding more oil as necessary. Transfer to a 4- to 6-quart slow cooker. Add the onions to the skillet and cook over medium heat until tender, about 10 minutes. Stir in the tomato paste and coat the onions; transfer to the cooker. Pour the wine into the skillet and scrape up any browned bits; add to the cooker. Stir in the potatoes, carrots, broth, salt, thyme, and bay leaf. Cover and cook on low heat for 7 1/2 hours, or on high for 4 hours. Add the peas and heat through.

Serves 10.

Per Serving (excluding unknown items): 467 Calories; 17g Fat (33.4% calories from fat); 46g Protein; 28g Carbohydrate; 3g Dietary Fiber; 105mg Cholesterol; 1101mg Sodium.

Exchanges: 1 1/2 Grain(Starch); 6 Lean Meat; 1 1/2 Vegetable; 1 1/2 Fat.

About Amy

Recently I came to an ugly realization–I am middle aged. I didn’t really think so but then I doubled my age and thought, “Hmmmm…some of people don’t live to that age. I must be middle age.” This epiphany came in the third quarter of my 39th year. So I am surviving middle age…it’s scary.

4 responses »

  1. mmm…beef stew…one of my fave fall/winter foods…do you make corn bread to go with yours?

    Reply
    • I prefer rolls with my beef stew and corn bread with my soup. I think it has to do with the thickness of the broth. I know that sounds weird. For thinner broths I like cornbread because it soaks it up like a sponge. A roll is good for sopping up thicker broth. How bout you?

      Reply
  2. Homemade rolls…yum…I’ll take those with anything, but I do tend to like cornbread with beef stew…and any kind of beans..probably because that’s what my mom always made…

    Reply
  3. Pingback: One Pot Beef Stroganoff « Living Too Large

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

